August Happy Hours

Meet the artists Rachel Echenberg and Maryse Arseneault

Wednesday, August 28 at 5 p.m.

Whether you are a member, an art lover or simply curious, you are all invited to this festive event!

In a relaxed atmosphere, Maryse Arseneault and Rachel Echenberg will present their current creative projects. The evening will be followed by a potluck cocktail, everyone brings a dish to share, if they wish and enjoys the double program. Children are welcome.

Rachel Echenberg
UNMEASURABLE

Unmeasurable is a photo series begun during an artist residency with my family on Anticosti Island in 2018. In the vast and isolated spaces of the island, we were able to create daily actions that connected our physical experiences to geographic proximity and distance, allowing me to use the relationships themselves as a measure of space. The images explore the structures and weights of dependence.

This summer, for the 10e Rencontres de la photographies en Gaspésie a selection of these photographs is exhibited in outdoor locations in Percé and Île Bonaventure. On these sites, the images are returned to another, somewhat similar landscape on the edge of the Gulf of the St. Lawrence.

Rachel Echenberg is a visual artist who primarily works in performance and video. Echenberg’s continual interest in possibilities for active empathy has lead to artworks that highlight vulnerable, intimate and uncontrollable relationships. Since 1992 Rachel Echenberg’s work has been exhibited, performed and screened across Canada as well as internationally in Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Morocco, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland and the United States. Many of her videos are distributed through Vidéographe in Montreal and Vtape in Toronto. Echenberg holds a BFA from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design in Halifax, Canada (1993) and an MA in Visual Performance from Dartington College of Arts in the UK (2004). Rachel Echenberg currently teaches in the Fine Arts Department of Dawson College in Montreal, Quebec.

Maryse Arseneault
LE GRAND VERRE

“Above the conifers is a large glass plate that sprawl, preventing us from flying away”

(song extract, Maryse Arseneault 2005, free translation from French)

I approach Le grand verre as a laboratory combining drawing, printmaking, video, sculpture and performance to explore the intrinsic memory of matter and the performativity of objects; among other things the glove, life jacket and fan.

My artistic concerns are based on the repetitive accumulation and mnemonic potential of action art. In a multidisciplinary context, I examine ancestral memory, animism and our relationship to the environment. With contemplative sensitivity, I try to understand the non-human being and the non-living object as active ingredients, sources of knowledge and creative potential.

Le grand verre is a poetic continuation of L’art de s’envoler / Flyer for Flight, an ongoing research project on which I have been working since 2013, inspired by childhood dreams where I learned to fly. If humans had spent less time creating planes, would our desire to fly have showed itself differently? Have we developed the ability to fly in our bodies? How to face your own lightness and fear of disappearing?

Maryse Arseneault loves the wind in the leaves, the brittle ice and the sailor songs. She holds a master’s degree from Concordia University (MFA Studio Arts 2015), and continues to work as multidisciplinary artist from Montreal. Acadian from Moncton, she has been presenting her work in a professional context since 2005, notably at Galerie Sans Nom (2012), Eastern Edge Gallery (2013) and Galerie du Nouvel Ontario (2015). In 2018, she became involved in several projects, including a first curatorial essay presented at the Galerie d’art Louise-et-Ruben-Cohen of the Université de Moncton, as well as a participation in the CONTACT festival in Toronto. This year, she is receiving a grant from the Canada Council for the Arts for her research project L’art de s’envol / Flyer for Flight. By combining an ecological way of thinking with the desire to reconnect with nature, she continues her artistic interventions, including performance, drawing and video.

Images
Banner : Rachel Echenberg, Perimetre, 2018 et Maryse Arseneault, detail from Le grand verre, 2019.

© L’imprimerie, centre d’artistes, 2019

Les Heures joyeuses d’août

Rencontre avec les artistes Rachel Echenberg et Maryse Arseneault

Le mercredi 28 août, dès 17 h

Membres, amateurs d’art ou simplement curieux, vous êtes tous conviés à cet événement festif !

Dans une ambiance décontractée, Maryse Arseneault et Rachel Echenberg nous présenteront leurs projets de création en cours. La soirée se déroulera sous une formule potluck, vous pouvez apporter un plat à partager, si vous le désirez et profiter du programme double de la soirée. Les enfants sont les bienvenus !

Rachel Echenberg
INCOMMENSURABLE

Incommensurable est une série de photos créée durant une résidence d’artiste avec ma famille sur l’Île d’Anticosti en 2018. Dans le contexte de ce paysage immense et isolé, nous avons créé quotidiennement des actions reliant nos expériences physiques à la proximité et à la distance géographiques, me permettant ainsi d’utiliser les relations elles-mêmes comme mesure de l’espace. Les images explorent les structures et le poids de dépendances familiales.

Cet été, pour les 10es Rencontres de la photographie en Gaspésie, une sélection de ces photographies est exposée à l’extérieur, à Percé et à l’Île Bonaventure. Sur ces sites, les images sont rendues dans un paysage, un peu similaire, situé au bord du Golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Rachel Echenberg est une artiste visuelle travaillant surtout en performance et en vidéo. Son intérêt soutenu pour les possibilités d’une empathie active a généré des œuvres qui mettent l’accent sur les rapports vulnérables, intimes et incontrôlables. Depuis 1992, le travail de Rachel Echenberg a été exposé, performé et visionné à travers le Canada de même qu’à l’international, soit en Allemagne, en Angleterre, en Belgique, au Chili, aux États-Unis, en Finland, en France, en Irlande du Nord, en Israël, en Italie, au Japon, au Liban, au Maroc, en Pologne, au Portugal, en République tchèque, et en Suisse. Plusieurs de ses œuvres vidéographiques sont disponibles chez Vidéographe à Montréal et Vtape à Toronto. Echenberg détient un Bac en arts visuels du Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (NSCAD) à Halifax, Canada (1993) et une maîtrise en performance visuelle, du Dartington College of Arts en Grande-Bretagne (2004). Rachel Echenberg enseigne au Département des arts plastiques à Collège Dawson, Montréal.

Maryse Arseneault
LE GRAND VERRE

« Au-dessus des conifères s’étale un grand plateau de verre qui nous empêche de s’envoler »

(extrait chanson, Maryse Arseneault 2005)

J’aborde Le grand verre comme un laboratoire combinant le dessin, l’estampe, la vidéo, la sculpture et la performance afin d’explorer la mémoire intrinsèque de la matière et la performativité des objets; entre autres le gant, le gilet de sauvetage et le ventilateur.

Mes préoccupations artistiques s’appuient sur l’accumulation répétitive et le potentiel mnémonique de l’art action. Dans un contexte multidisciplinaire, j’examine la mémoire ancestrale, l’animisme et notre rapport à l’environnement. Avec une sensibilité contemplative, j’essaie de comprendre l’être non-humain et l’objet non-vivant comme matières actives, sources de connaissances et de potentiel créatif.

Le grand verre est une continuation poétique de L’art de s’envoler / flyer for Flight, un projet de recherche évolutif sur lequel je travaille depuis 2013, inspiré de rêves d’enfance où j’apprenais à voler. Si l’humain avait passé moins de temps à inventer des avions, est-ce que notre désir de s’envoler se serait manifesté autrement ? Aurions-nous développé à même notre corps l’habileté de s’envoler ? Comment affronter sa propre légèreté et sa peur de disparaitre ?

Maryse Arseneault aime le vent dans les feuilles, la petite glace cassante et les chants marins. Elle détient un diplôme de maîtrise de l’Université Concordia (MFA Studio Arts 2015), et continue de travailler en création multidisciplinaire à partir de Montréal. Acadienne de Moncton, elle présente son travail dans un contexte professionnel depuis 2005, notamment à la Galerie Sans Nom (2012), à Eastern Edge Gallery (2013) et à la Galerie du Nouvel Ontario (2015). En 2018, elle s’implique dans plusieurs projets, dont un premier essai de commissariat présenté à la galerie d’art Louise-et-Ruben-Cohen de l’Université de Moncton, ainsi qu’une participation au festival CONTACT à Toronto. Elle reçoit cette année une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada pour son projet de recherche L’art de s’envoler / Flyer for Flight. En combinant une pensée écologique avec le désir de se reconnecter avec la nature, elle poursuit ses interventions artistiques, entre autre au moyen de la performance, du dessin et de la vidéo.

Images
Bannière : Rachel Echenberg, Périmètre, 2018 et Maryse Arseneault, détail, Le grand verre, 2019.

© L’imprimerie, centre d’artistes, 2019